School of Life Sciences

Staff

Dean & Head of School

Prof ADEMOLA OLANIRAN

Professor Olaniran is the Dean and Head of the School of Life Sciences.  He joined the University as a full-time staff member in 2006. He has taught a range of Microbiology modules at both undergraduate and postgraduate level, with particular focus on Environmental Microbial Biotechnology. Recently, his teaching has been focused on pollution microbiology, pollutant monitoring and detection; waste and wastewater treatment; bioremediation of pollutants; bioenergy production and microbial diversity in biotechnological processes. 

PA/Secretary: Ms Xoli Shandu  |  031 260 1545  |  shandu@ukzn.ac.za

Surname, NameRoleEmailTelephoneLocation
Finnie, JeffreyBiodiversity/ Evolutionary Biology – PMBFinnie@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5151Pietermaritzburg Campus
Glassom, DavidBiodiversity/ Evolutionary Biology – WVLGlassom@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3183Westville Campus
Islam, ShahidulBiotechnology – WVLIslamD@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8717Westville Campus
Kana, GueguimResearchKanaG@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5527Pietermaritzburg Campus
Niesler, CarolaBiotechnology – PMBniesler@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5465Pietermaritzburg Campus
Vosloo, AndreTeaching & LearningVosloo@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1337Westville Campus
Vosloo, DaleneCellular Biology – WVLVoslooD@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3237Westville Campus
Management Staff
Clark, Celeste Manager Technical Operations – PMBclarkm@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5149Pietermaritzburg Campus
Shange, Lindiwe  Manager: School OperationsshangeL3@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1178Westville Campus
Singh, Vees Manager: Technical Operations – WVLsinghva@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7359Westville Campus
     
Surname, NameCluster/ DisciplineEmailTelephoneLocation
Access Programme
Johnson, Kathy Access programmejohnson@ukzn.ac.za033 260 6016Pietermaritzburg Campus
Payne, HallamAccess programmepayne@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5109Pietermaritzburg Campus
Biochemistry
Coetzer, TheresaBiochemistryCoetzer@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5463Pietermaritzburg Campus
Goldring, DeanBiochemistrygoldringd@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5466Pietermaritzburg Campus
Gumbi, PamBiochemistryGumbip@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5589Pietermaritzburg Campus
Hewer, RaymondBiochemistryHewerr@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5150Pietermaritzburg Campus
Islam, ShahidulBiochemistryislamd@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8717Westville Campus
Khoza, ThandekaBiochemistrykhozat1@ukzn.ac.za033 260 6281Pietermaritzburg Campus
Mokhosi, SeipatiBiochemistrymokhosis@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7271Westville Campus
Niesler, CarolaBiochemistryniesler@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5465Pietermaritzburg Campus
Pillay, KarenBiochemistrymuthusamy@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7665Westville Campus
Pooe, OfentseBiochemistryPooeO@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8982Westville Campus
Singh, MoganavelliBiochemistrysinghm1@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7170Westville Campus
Biology
Bastian, AnnaBiologybastiana@ukzn.ac.za033 260 7719Westville Campus
Carrasco, NicolaBiologycarrasco@ukzn.ac.za033 260 1194Westville Campus
Gebashe, Fikisiwe Biologygebashec@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7221Westville Campus
Glassom, DavidBiologyglassom@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3183Westville Campus
Hlongwane, Zabentungwa BiologyHlongwaneZ@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7442Westville Campus
Magadlela, Anathi Biologymagadlelaa@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2067Westville Campus
Makhubo, BuyisileBiologymakhubob@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2441Westville Campus
McDonald, Angus Biologymacdonalda@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8633Westville Campus
Mdleleni, Yanga BiologyMdleleniY@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7465Westville Campus
Miya, TshoaneloBiologymiyat@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3336Westville Campus
Moodley, GanBiologyMoodleygk@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7076Westville Campus
Ramdhani, SydBiologyramdhani@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3185Westville Campus
Scharler, Ursula BiologyScharler@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1605Westville Campus
Seaman, Paul BiologySeaman@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7173Westville Campus
Shaik, ShakiraBiologyshaiksh@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7773Westville Campus
Slotow, RobBiologyslotow@ukzn.ac.za031 260 6028Westville Campus
Tembe, Danisile BiologyTembeD@ukzn.ac.za   031 260 7586Westville Campus
Von der Meden, Charles  BiologyVonDerMedenC@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3466Westville Campus
Vosloo, Andre BiologyVosloo@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1337Westville Campus
Vosloo, DaleneBiologyVoslood@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1337Westville Campus
Watt, Paula  BiologyWattm@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1199Westville Campus
Zungu, ManqobaBiologyzungum1@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5113Pietermaritzburg Campus
Botany
Beckett, RichardBotanybeckett@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5141Pietermaritzburg Campus
Bytebier, BennyBotanybytebier@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5145Pietermaritzburg Campus
Finnie, JeffBotanyfinnie@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5151Pietermaritzburg Campus
Magadlela, AnathiBotanyMagadlelaA@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2067Westville Campus
Ecology
Johnson, SteveEcologyjohnsonsd@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5148Pietermaritzburg Campus
Scogings, PeterEcologyscogingsp@ukzn.ac.za033 260 6018Pietermaritzburg Campus
Shuttleworth, AdamEcologyshuttleworth@ukzn.ac.za033 260 6559Pietermaritzburg Campus
Van der Niet, TimoEcologyvanderNiett@ukzn.ac.za033 260 6492Pietermaritzburg Campus
Entomology
Munyai, Caswell Entomologymunyaic2@ukzn.ac.za033 260 6086Pietermaritzburg Campus
Olckers, Terence Entomologyolckerst@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5139Pietermaritzburg Campus
Genetics
Adeleke, MatthewGeneticsadelekem@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8212Westville Campus
Dzomba, EdgarGeneticsdzomba@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5434Pietermaritzburg Campus
Ghai, MeenuGeneticsghai@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8617Westville Campus
Meusel, MichaelGeneticsmeusel@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5710Pietermaritzburg Campus
Okpeku, Moses Geneticsokpekum@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8727Westville Campus
Pillay, ChéGeneticspillayc3@ukzn.ac.za033 260 6231Pietermaritzburg Campus
Tembe, DanisileGeneticsTembeD@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7586Westville Campus
Willows-Munro, SandiGeneticsWillows-munro@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5436Pietermaritzburg Campus
Zishiri, Oliver Geneticszishiri@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8616Westville Campus
Grassland Science
Kirkman, Kevin  Grassland Sciencekirkman@ukzn.ac.za031 260 5821Pietermaritzburg Campus
Nkuna, Sindiso  Grassland Sciencechamane@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5508Pietermaritzburg Campus
Tedder, Michelle Grassland Sciencetedder@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5107Pietermaritzburg Campus
Tsvuura, Zivanai Grassland ScienceTsvuuraz@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5805Pietermaritzburg Campus
Microbiology
Beukes, LorikaMicrobiologyBeukes@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5829Pietermaritzburg Campus
Chenia, HafizahMicrobiologycheniah@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7796Westville Campus
Hunter, CharlesMicrobiologyhunterc@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5528Pietermaritzburg Campus
Kana, GueguimMicrobiologykanag@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5527Pietermaritzburg Campus
Lin, JohnsonMicrobiologylinj@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7407Westville Campus
Maningi, NontuthukoMicrobiologymaningin@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7405Westville Campus
Mvubu, NontobekoMicrobiologymvubun@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7404Westville Campus
Olaniran, AdemolaMicrobiologyolanirana@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7400Westville Campus
Schmidt, StefanMicrobiologyschmidts@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5523Pietermaritzburg Campus
Zoology
Downs, ColleenZoologydowns@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5127Pietermaritzburg Campus
Kraai, Manqhai Zoologykraai@ukzn.ac.za031 260 5506Pietermaritzburg Campus
Surname, NameRoleEmailTelephoneLocation
Shange, Lindiwe  Manager: School OperationsshangeL3@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1178Westville Campus
Pietermartizburg campus
Ahrens, Charmaine Assistant Admin Officerahrensc@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5435Pietermaritzburg Campus
Chinniah, Devashnee  Principal Admin Officerchinniahd@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5122Pietermaritzburg Campus
Joubert, Pat  Assistant Admin Officer: FinanceJoubertPS@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5467Pietermaritzburg Campus
Karalic, Tanya  Assistant Admin Officerkaralict@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5505Pietermaritzburg Campus
Khuzwayo, Sibongile  Admin Officerntulis@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5525Pietermaritzburg Campus
Ndlovu, Ziyanda  Assistant Admin Officerndlovuz2@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5103Pietermaritzburg Campus
Noble, Renny  Admin OfficernobleR@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5147 Pietermaritzburg Campus
Westville Campus
Chetram, Shireen  Assistant Admin Officerchetramu@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1602Westville Campus
Chinniah, Devashnee  Principal Admin Officerchinniahd@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8317Westville Campus
Dube, Sbusisiwe  Assistant Admin Officerdubes2@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7401Westville Campus
Jali, Nonjabulo  Assistant Admin Officerjalin2@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1193Westville Campus
Mbhele, BusiAssistant Admin Officermbhelen10@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3192Westville Campus
Naidoo, BasilSenior Technician: Financenaidoob@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7779Westville Campus
Rambaran, JayAdmin Officer: Financerambaranj@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7409Westville Campus
Samuels, ShereenAssistant Admin Officersamuelss@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8234Westville Campus
Shandu, XoliSecretary to Dean/School Administratorshandu@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1545Westville Campus
Surname, NameRoleEmailTelephoneLocation
Pietermartizburg campus
Clark, Celeste Manager Technical Operationsclarkm@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5149Pietermaritzburg Campus
 
Ally, EbrahimPrincipal Technicianallye@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5661Pietermaritzburg Campus
Brunkhorst, Megan Senior Technicianbrunkhorstm@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5438Pietermaritzburg Campus
Carelse, George Techniciancarelse@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5156Pietermaritzburg Campus
Cele, Bhekisisa  Technical AssistantCeleB3@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5563Pietermaritzburg Campus
Curry, Christina Principal Technicianpotgietercj@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5146Pietermaritzburg Campus
Gasa, Nomalanga  Laboratory AssistantGasaN@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5438Pietermaritzburg Campus
Gumede, Samukelisiwe  Laboratory Assistantgumeden@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5120Pietermaritzburg Campus
Luthada-Raswiswi, Rendani  Senior Technicianluthada-raswiswi@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5101Pietermaritzburg Campus
Magwaza, Prudence  Technical Assistantmagwazap@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5050Pietermaritzburg Campus
Mbele, Zama  Senior TechnicianMbeleZ@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5530Pietermaritzburg Campus
Mjwara, Thami  General Assistantmjwarat@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5661Pietermaritzburg Campus
Moodley, Jessica  Senior Techniciansubramanit@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5469Pietermaritzburg Campus
Mthethwa, Qiniso  Principal Technicianmthethwaq@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5584Pietermaritzburg Campus
Nene, Mdu Garden Assistantnenem@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5154Pietermaritzburg Campus
Shabalala, Richard Laboratory Assistantshabalalar@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5469Pietermaritzburg Campus
Sikhakane, Wilson  Laboratory Assistantsikhakhanewi@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5469Pietermaritzburg Campus
Stuart, Stephne  Senior Technicianstuart@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5142Pietermaritzburg Campus
Xhoba (Zondi), Agnes Laboratory Assistantzondiat@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5584Pietermaritzburg Campus
Young, Alison  Senior Technicianyounga@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5154Pietermaritzburg Campus
Zondi, Goodman  Technical Assistantzondig@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5114Pietermaritzburg Campus
Westville Campus
Singh, VeesManager: Technical Operationssinghva@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7359Westville Campus
 
Genu, Xolile  Senior Techniciangenux@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8620Westville Campus
Govender, Salona  Principal TechnicianMoodleys2@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8287Westville Campus
Gumede, Siyabonga  Lab Assistantgumedes2@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8554Westville Campus
Jackson, Roy  Senior Technicianjacksonr@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3189Westville Campus
Jagganath, Dinesh  Principal Technicianjagganathd@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8186Westville Campus
Khanyile, Magdelina  Technical Assistantnaharam@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3027Westville Campus
Khathi, Edward  Technical Assistantkhathi@ukzn.ac.za031 260  7852Westville Campus
Khumalo, Zama  Principal Techniciankhumalog@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7926Westville Campus
Khuzwayo, Thembalethu  Technical Assistantkhuzwayot5@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8356Westville Campus
Mkhize, Mildred  Technical Assistantmkhizedm@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7712Westville Campus
Moloi, Puleng  Technicianmoloi@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8621Westville Campus
Msabala, Sithembiso  Technician workshopmsabala@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1181Westville Campus
Ndlovu, Zandile  Technicianndlovuza@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1625Westville Campus
Ntshobeni, Noyise  Senior Technicianntshobenin@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7370Westville Campus
Nundkumar, Nirasha  Senior Techniciannundkumar@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8788Westville Campus
Peer, Faiza  Senior Technicianpeerf@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7408Westville Campus
Pillay, Yegan  Senior TechnicianpillayY@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3022Westville Campus
Rambaran, Neervana  Senior Technicianrambarann1@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7220Westville Campus
Sephula, Zola Technical Assistantsephulae11@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3027Westville Campus
Sewrathan, Dheshni  Senior Techniciansewrathan@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8294Westville Campus
Sibiya, Herbert  Techniciansibiyah@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8187Westville Campus
Singh, Vees  Manager: Technical Operationssinghva@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7359Westville Campus
Tshibase, Phinda  Technical Assistant/Drivertshibases@ukzn.ac.za Westville Campus
Surname, NameRoleEmailTelephoneLocation
Murugan, Nelisha  Manager Technical Operationsmurugann@ukzn.ac.za031 260 5155Pietermaritzburg Campus
Pietermaritzburg Campus
Matyumza, Cynthia  Senior Technicianmatyumza@ukzn.ac.za031 260 5155Pietermaritzburg Campus
Westville Campus
Bharuth, Vishal Principal Technicianbharuth@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2178Westville Campus
Naidu, Subashen  Techniciannaidu2@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2174Westville Campus
Phillip, Christopher Principal Technicianchristopherp@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7765Westville Campus