Passion for Science Earns Tejmé Saien the Malegapuru W Makgoba Scholarship

Mr Tejmé Saien’s love for science started early in his life and has always found it easy to navigate his way through his studies. In his matric year, 2016, he was awarded a certificate from the National Research Foundation (NRF) and the South African Agency for Science and Technology Advancement (SAASTA) for being one of

Thirst for Knowledge Drives Archbishop Denis E. Hurley Scholarship Recipient

Mr Danvir Ramesar received the Archbishop Denis E. Hurley Scholarship, which has enabled him to pursue his Honours degree in Microbiology. The Archbishop Denis E Hurley Scholarship is provided by the Archbishop Denis E. Hurley Educational Trust and is dedicated to academically disadvantaged but excellent candidates to read for Honours degrees. Selected candidates’ study areas,

Talent Equity and Excellence Scholarship for Aspiring Academic and Biologist

Ms Simangele Msweli from the School of Life Sciences is the recipient of the Talent Equity and Excellence Acceleration Scholarship, which is awarded to Black South African students who have achieved academic excellence and aim for a career in academia. ‘I feel very honoured since this award recognises the commitment I’ve put into academia and

Mandela Rhodes Scholarship for Budding Grassland Scientist

Mr Stuart Demmer, an MSc candidate in Grassland Science, received a Mandela Rhodes Scholarship towards his postgraduate studies in recognition of his impressive academic achievements, strong leadership qualities, commitment to community engagement a reconciliation as well as a spirit of entrepreneurship. ‘Being a part of the Mandela Rhodes community is both an honour and a

College Deputy Vice-Chancellors’ Scholarship Award for Budding Scientist

Ms Mishka Essop, a student in the School of Life Sciences, has received the College Deputy Vice-Chancellors’ Scholarship Award, a scholarship that has enabled her to continue her studies. The College Deputy Vice-Chancellors’ Scholarship awards- which recognise top performance over two or more years of undergraduate study- are awarded to the three top ranked undergraduates

From Humble Beginnings to Emma Smith Overseas Scholarship Award

Master’s in Genetics student, Ms Cebile Hlongwane, is this year’s proud recipient of the prestigious Emma Smith Overseas Scholarship. The Emma Smith Overseas Scholarship, funded by the family of C.G Smith and named after Mrs C.G Smith, provides top-performing female postgraduate students resident in eThekwini an opportunity to study abroad. Earlier this year, Hlongwane obtained

Prestige Sports Scholarship for Sibling Sailors

Siblings, Mr Rudi and Ms Hannah Fokkens, have been awarded the Prestige Sports Scholarship Award in recognition for their excellence in sports. For Rudi, who is in his third-year BSc Biological Sciences studies, this is his second Prestige Sports Scholarship Award for the second year running while his sister, who is doing her first-year studies